VNN Media
VNN Digital Library
VNN Reader Mail
VNN Broadcasts

Old February 19th, 2013 #1
Crystal Winterfrost
卐 ☠ ϟϟ ✠ 卐 ✠ ϟϟ ☠ 卐

Default Grammatical Inquiry

Hey guys, I’d like your help with something that I’ve been trying to clarify for days to some unbelievably stubborn punk, whose planet-sized ego is so massive – that it just won’t accept that I’m right, and its owner is wrong, despite me having proven him wrong with a plentiful amount of evidence that I’ve provided him; which he refuses to even acknowledge. I’m by no means an English expert, and English is a secondary language to me, so I still have much to learn; but I’m always trying to improve as much as possible, and I know for a fact that I’m right about this one, because I’ve done a lot of research on it.

So, the issue this guy and I have being arguing about for days is about the rules for periods and commas when using quotation marks. I’ve been arguing that in American English – the rule is that periods and commas always go inside the quotation marks, regardless of personal logic. But he argues otherwise. He believes (and without providing ANY evidence whatsoever) that the text inside quotation marks must exactly duplicate the portion of the text that’s being quoted. In the examples below - the correct examples are the way I’d quote using commas and periods, and the incorrect examples show the way he’d do it:

Quote:
The hydroxyl groups the team detected are evidence that the lunar interior contained significant water during the moon's early molten state, before the crust solidified, and may have played a key role in the development of lunar basalts.
Commas:
Correct: “The hydroxyl groups the team detected are evidence that the lunar interior contained significant water during the moon's early molten state,” (Additional text follows here…)