VNN Media
VNN Digital Library
VNN Reader Mail
VNN Broadcasts

Old December 8th, 2012 #1
AJG
Holohoax Survivor

Default Computer/Technology Questions and Answers

Hello and welcome to your 1-stop shop for information concerning all manner of electronic devices you encounter in your daily life!

I've been a computer hobbyist for quite a few years and sometimes neglect to remember that many, many people don't have much of an idea about how they work and can be intimidated by computers and technology in general. This thread aims to fix that. You can ask about a problem you have with your computer, ask a question about how an aspect of computers works, ask for advice on buying a new computer, etc. You can also come here for information on phones, tablets and to a smaller extent, televisions. I also want to make it clear this isn't "my thread" and anyone that is knowledgeable on the subject should feel free to help out.

I'll start with a fun fact: Macs are PCs that Apple makes exclusively so they can charge you 50% more than they're worth for proprietary reasons. There is no difference outside of Apple propaganda designed to make you associate the term PC with viruses. Stay far away from them and anything Apple.

Old March 16th, 2013 #2
Fred
Commie Killer

I have a problem. My main workstation will not boot up unless it runs Chckdsk first. I am using XP. Should I let Chckdsk run or not? Should I take the drive out and put it another computer? Is my data lost? Is chckdsk safe?

Thanks.

Old March 16th, 2013 #3
varg

Are you turning your computer off properly through the shut down button?

Yes running it is safe. It tries to repair any lost data when the computer is shut down improperly.

Also there are viruses for Macs, it's just a smaller market so there's less time put into developing them.

Last edited by varg; March 16th, 2013 at 12:39 PM. Reason: .

Old March 16th, 2013 #4
AJG
Holohoax Survivor